The future is resin

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Random Musings
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday Games Workshop announced the launch of its new ‘Finecast’ line. You can read the announcement here. I was pleased to hear that the rumours circulating on the internet about the change to resin were true. Although I haven’t seen the models in person yet the pictures of the new resin casts on the website look amazing and the detail is very crisp and sharp. Not only do the resin models produced from existing casts look much better than their metal counterparts, this move will allow Games Workshop to produce much more detailed models in the future. I can’t wait to see the models sculpted purposely for the Finecast range.

There has been a lot of negativity about this move on the internet (which isn’t surprising when you consider the mentality of most people who post on forums).  However, personally I think this can only be a good thing. I much prefer working with resin and I also find that it is a more suitable material for wargaming than metal. The paint on metal models has a tendency to chip much more than on plastic and resin ones and I wouldn’t want my carefully painted models to be damaged during a game. Recently I have been considering collecting an Eldar army but the number of metal aspect warriors needed was making me reconsider. However, now this won’t be a problem. I think that the metal Farseer that I am currently working on (pictured below) will remain a display piece when he’s done and I’ll buy a new resin one for gaming.

I’m pleased to see that Games Workshop is continuing to push back the boundaries of what is possible in the hobby. I’m very much looking forward to Saturday when hopefully I’ll be able to see some of these models for myself in a GW store.

Comments
  1. Mister Feral says:

    I totally agree with you on this one, there’s too much hatred towards it (which I find ridiculous, considering no-one has actually been able to look at the Finecast range in the flesh yet).

    I don’t mind the price increase if the material used is both easier to convert and more detailed. Guess we’ll have to wait until Saturday to find out. :)

  2. Hi Mister Feral. Thanks for the comment. Unfortunately the online community seems to be full of people who enjoy complaining. Some people have a very immature attitude about these things but they seem to be the ones who are the most vocal. Whatever GW do they’ll find fault with it.

    As for the price increase, I’m with you on this one; you get what you pay for. I’m happy to pay more for better models. I’m primarily a painter rather than a gamer so I welcome this move. However, if people don’t like the Finecast stuff or aren’t willing to pay for it there are plenty of viable all-plastic armies out there.

Leave a Reply

