Review: ‘Eavy Metal Masterclass

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Reviews
Tags: ,

For Christmas I received a copy of ‘Eavy Metal Masterclass. I was very pleased with this as the Masterclass articles are my favourite part of White Dwarf. The book collects together twelve previously published articles along with a new painting guide for Urien Rakarth which is exclusive to the book. The book is very nicely produced and features loads of brilliantly painted models by the ‘Eavy Metal team. The articles are very clearly set out and the set-by-step guides are easy to follow.

Although the guides focus on individual models, proving a start-to-finish painting guide, the techniques could easily be applied to other models. For example, I applied the NMM gold technique from Darren Latham’s Sanguinor painting guide to the detail on the Heldenhammer’s sails. This was only my second attempt at NMM and I found the Masterclass very useful. One of the great things about the Masterclass articles is that they have encouraged me to try techniques I’ve never tried before and step out of my comfort zone. I believe that this has definitely made me a better painter.

The guides in the book are all based on the ‘Eavy Metal team’s in-house style. I would say that the guides are intermediate and expert in difficulty and the techniques employed are quite time-consuming. The book is really aimed at more experienced painters aiming to produce impressive display pieces. If you want quick and easy techniques for army painting or are new to miniature painting then this may not be the book for you.

The only real downside to the book is that the vast majority of material has been previously published. If, like me, you haven’t got all of the issues of White Dwarf in which these articles appeared or would like to have them collected together in a single volume then this is a great purchase. However, if you have the articles already you might think twice about getting the book.

Comments
  1. Feral says:

    Fantastic work on the banner!

    I too picked up the book for the NMM Gold technique, I’ve not read through the whole thing yet but it looks rather useful. :)

Leave a Reply

