Blue, blue, electric blue…

Posted: May 7, 2011 in Eldar, Work-In-Progress
Tags: , , ,

…that’s not the colour of my room, but it is the colour of my Farseer’s witchblade. This is a bit of a first for me as I don’t usually paint power weapon effects but I thought on this model it would be appropriate as it fits in well with the brightness of the overall model. It also suggests the special nature of the Witchblade. I found this a fun exercise in blending and I’m pleased with the smooth finish. Just the staff to paint now.

Comments
  1. khayne666 says:

    Hi, sweet paint job. What colours did you use for the Ghosthelm and Witchblade?

  2. Andrew King says:

    Thanks, Khayne. I’m glad you like the Farseer. This is a model I’m very proud of as I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried out a number of new techniques (well, new for me, anyway) such as the power sword effect.

    The Ghosthelm started with a basecoat of Codex Grey and worked up through Space Wolf Grey followed by Skull White. You need to do this in lots of thin layers in order to build up smooth highlights.

    The sword was basecoated with a roughly 50/50 mix of Regal Blue and Ice Blue. Thin coats of Ice Blue were applied to the blade to mark out the dark/light pattern. Once the pattern was mapped out it was highlighted using Ice Blue and Space Wolf Grey, pure Space Wolf Grey and finally sparing highlights of Skull White. On areas that were too harsh glazes of either Ice Blue of Regal Blue were used to lighten or darken them respectively and smooth out the blending.

Leave a Reply

