Orcs!

Posted: July 16, 2011 in Lord of the Rings
Tags: , ,

After reading an article in Empire magazine about the forthcoming hobbit films I’m very much excited again about the world of Middle Earth and its denizens.  As such I have begun repainting a lot of my old LotR models which I bought back when they were originally released a decade ago. In that time my painting has greatly improved and so I decided to update them.

Here are my orcs. I wanted them to be as close as possible to the film. However, the orcs in the film are all muddy and filthy and, while this looks great on film, it doesn’t really translate well onto miniatures without making them look like a badly painted mess. Instead I wanted to capture the feel of the orcs by using lots of dark colours and muted shades with the occasional red accent to add a bit of colour. Overall I’m very pleased with how these turned out.

Leave a Reply

