Mercenary captain wip

Posted: December 21, 2011 in Mordheim, Work-In-Progress
Tags: , , ,

This certainly isn’t the fat man dressed in red you usually see at this time of year but my Mordheim mercenary captain. This guy is going to lead my band of Reiklanders into the City of the Damned in search of riches. I armed him with a crossbow (a characteristic weapon of Reikland) as well as a sword and an axe if things get up close and personal. He also has heavy armour and a helmet for added survivability.

I think this is a really brilliant and characterful sculpt which is sadly overlooked in the GW range. Colour wise I stuck pretty close to the painted example of the Games Workshop website. I am particularly pleased with the stubble which was painted using a mix of Dwarf Flesh, Scorched Brown, Chaos Black and Fortress Grey. This was shaded by adding Codex Grey to the mix and highlighted using Dwarf Flesh to give the appearance that you can see his skin through the stubble. This technique was taken from the brilliant ‘Painting Faces Redux’ article from the White Dwarf archive. I would certainly recommend giving it a read as it contains some really useful advice.

This will be my last post before Christmas and, most probably, my last post before New Year as I’m traveling down to Bedford to spend the festive season with my wife’s family. I hope you all have a great Christmas and a big thank you to everyone who has followed Miniature Miscellany throughout 2011. See you in 2012,

Andy.

Comments
  1. Feral says:

    Great model, I agree! The paintjob is also looking good thus far, the rusty metallics is my favourite part.

    I’ll have to give that WD article a look as well

    Merry Christmas too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

