Bad Moon ork – part 1

Posted: January 22, 2012 in Orks, Warhammer 40k, Work-In-Progress
Tags: , , ,


Over the last few days I have been working on a Bad Moon ork nob in mega armour. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I recently received the ‘Eavy Metal Masterclass book which is a great source of inspiration. I wanted to try out the technique for painting yellow and decided to paint up an old ork model I’ve had lying around for years. I’ve always loved the aesthetic of the orks (particularly the Brian Nelson designed orks) but have never wanted to collect an army of them due to the high number of models I would need to paint so this will be a strictly one-off project to try out new techniques.

Painting Ork Skin

Because the ork is wearing mega-armour, pistons, hydraulics and armour plates obscure most of the skin and clothing of the model and so the only way to paint these areas is the ‘inside out’ method: starting with the recessed areas and building on these. This way the top ‘layers’ of detail will not get in the way of what is underneath. Therefore I started with the skin and trousers. The skin was painted Knarloc Green and washed with a couple of brown mixes (50/50 Dark Flesh and Catachan Green followed by a roughly 50/50 mix of  Scorched Brown and Catachan Green with a little Chaos Black added). This was highlighted by adding increasing amounts of Vomit Brown to Knarloc Green followed by Bleached Bone and finally Skull White. The areas around the eyes were painted by adding Regal Blue to the basecoat and the lips by adding Scab Red to the basecoat. They eye was painted Blood Red with a single Skull White highlight.

So far this has been quite a fun side project and I look forward to working on this model more, especially the crucial yellow stage (a colour I almost never use). Stay tuned for more.

-Andy.

Comments
  1. Minitrol says:

    Looks great! I have my ‘eavy metal guide on hold at the local may have to go pick it up…

  2. Andrew King says:

    Following the ‘Eavy Metal guides in White Dwarf has definitely made me a better painter. They’re a great source of inspiration and often get me to try new things I would never have thought of myself.

  3. 40kterminatus says:

    I aim to convert an Ork warboss shortly and your work is a great starting point and guide. Good job.

Leave a Reply

