Bad Moon ork – finished!

Posted: February 15, 2012 in Orks, Warhammer 40k
Tags: , , ,


I’ve finished painting my Bad Moon ork in mega armour. This was primarily painted as an experiment in painting yellow and I’m very pleased with how it came out. I’m also very happy with other aspects of the model such as the ork’s skin and the metallic areas. I decided to do something a bit special for the base and made a scenic base for him. The base was painted to represent the deserts of Armageddon.

Although I have called this model finished in the title I’m still not 100% happy with him. I’m not sure what it is but I think something is missing. I might add a banner or boss pole in order to give the model a bit more height which might help with the overall composition. On the other hand I don’t want to overdo it and risk spoiling the model. If you have any suggestions please comment. I’d love to hear what you think.

The base was painted with Bestial Brown and drybrushed with the following colours: Bestial Brown, Snakebite Leather, Vomit Brown and finally Bleached Bone. The space marine helmet was painted in the colours of the Salamander chapter as I wanted to use a chapter that had fought at Armageddon but thought that red  for Blood Angels would be too distracting from the model itself whereas black for the Black Templars might end up not standing out. The green is neutral enough and also mirrors the green of the ork’s skin. The helmet was painted Knarloc Green, washed with Thraka Green and highlighted with Knarloc Green followed by Knarloc Green and Rotten Flesh. the grass tufts are GW’s Mordheim Turf.

Pictures of the base:

All the best,

Andy.

Related Posts:

Comments
  1. Nick Bench says:

    The model itself looks brilliant Andy, but as you said it seems to be missing some aspect of… ‘Orkiness’. He does look Dead ‘Ard but Orks are also the comedic faction within the 40k universe; maybe something as simple as a Snotling fleeing from this lumbering monstrosity or cheekily hitching a ride on his back would add depth?

  2. Really good work. I love the yellow, which is a difficult coor to paint well, IMO. I agree a fleeing snotling would be a nice addition since there’s a lot of empty space on that base when viewed from above.

  3. Andrew King says:

    Thanks for the comments. I’m glad you like the model. However, I’m not sure about adding a snotling as I don’t want the base to look too crowded (also, I don’r have any snotling models).

  4. Your Bad Moonz Ork is mega armour looks really really nice! Good job. I hope my one turns out as well as yours.

  5. 40kterminatus says:

    If only I could get yellow to look that good.

Leave a Reply

