Miniature Miscellany one year on

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Random Musings
Tags:

Happy birthday Miniature Miscellany!

Today marks one year since my first blog post. Back when I started this blog I didn’t know how long it would last or if there would be any interest in it. I’d previously started a number of threads on forums to showcase my painting and document my progress with various projects. However, as the projects lost momentum these threads fizzled out. Having my own blog has allowed me to keep everything in one place and to show off whatever I happen to be working on at the time. The name Miniature Miscellany was deliberately chosen with this in mind as I rarely work on one project from start to finish but instead flit between projects and work on whatever models catch my attention. Looking back over the last twelve months there has certainly been a miscellaneous assemblage of models.

One of my biggest achievements since beginning the blog was starting and finishing (well, mostly) a whole army for Epic: Armageddon. I still have a few falcons to paint up and I will probably add to the army in the future but the vast majority of the 3,000 point force is done.

I have also started work on a large Mordheim project which will hopefully include a fully modeled cityscape to fight over and two warbands when it is done. This rather ambitious project has been progressing slowly but is still ongoing. I haven’t abandoned the project but it may be some time before I get back to working on the buildings in earnest as finishing my PhD is taking up rather a lot of my time and so working on smaller, more manageable models is far more convenient for me at the moment.

Another big feature of this blog in recent months has been Dreadfleet. I really love the models for this game as they are very detailed and characterful. So far I have managed to get two ships painted and will continue to slowly work on the rest. Because this is such a nice limited edition release I don’t want to rush through painting them.

Along with these larger projects I have also worked on a number of one-off models which I have tried to paint to my highest standard. My favourite of these has been the Bad Moon Nob in mega armour. I’m very pleased with how this turned out and he has inspired me to move on to building an army of orks for Epic.

Looking back I’ve had quite a productive year for miniature painting. One of the nice things about keeping this blog is it allows me to record what I have done and browsing back over the last year’s posts has made me realise just how much I’ve achieved in a relatively short space of time. Hopefully you’ve enjoyed following my progress on these projects because I’ve certainly had a lot of fun working on them.

Finally, I’d like to say a big thank you to everyone who reads this blog on a regular basis, particularly those of you who have commented or offered encouragement. I’d also like to thank everyone who has added links to MM to their blogs, it really is appreciated.

All the best,

Andy.

Comments
  1. Lindsey King says:

    Happy Birthday, MM x

  2. Happy anniversary! May you paint many more masterpiece miniatures in the year ahead.

  3. Minitrol says:

    I am still in awe of the Dreadfleet painting – will you do anymore of them you think?

  4. Andrew King says:

    Thanks for the comments. I’m glad you have enoyed reading the blog.

    Minitrol – I’m pleased you like the way I have painted my Dreadfleet. They are such nice models and I really enjoyed painting them. I definitely plan on painting up the rest of the set when I get a chance (in fact, the Curse of Zandri is already underway). However, I don’t want to rush them so it may be slow progress.

Leave a Reply

