Da boyz are back in town

Posted: May 22, 2012 in Epic: Armageddon, Orks
Tags: , , ,

Tale of Epic Gamers

“All right, listen up ‘oomies! We’ve had enough of this pointyeared nonsense – da boyz are back in town.”

Ahem, sorry about the interruption. These guys are probably just being impatient due to the fact they have been sat on my desk for some time now while I’ve been putting the finishing touches to some of my Eldar. However, I though it was time to photo some of my orks. These are for my ‘Tale of Epic Gamers’ thread over on the Tactical Command forum. The  ‘Tale’ is a group painting project designed to inspire Epic players to get their armies painted by painting up 500 points blocks on a monthly basis. Hopefully painting up my army alongside some talented painters on the forum along with the challenge of monthly deadlines will help me stay motivated throughout this project and paint up a force.

First up is a ‘big mob’ or orks. Unlike the strict compositions of Eldar formations, ork formations come in three basic sizes ‘normal’, ‘big’ and ‘huge’. These take the basic formation (two nobz, six orks and four grots) and double or triple it in size. In addition to this you can add all manner of upgrades which can be added in virtually any combination.

Dreadnoughts

“Da dreads are dead killy in kombat. Dey look real flash wi’  der bright yella paint job, showin’ da uvver orkz who’s da richest!”

For this formation I have added some dreadnoughts in order to give the formation extra punch in assaults.They were painted using my usual technique for painting yellow. I think the bright colour works really well and certainly makes these models stand out on the table.

Da Boyz

“We orks are da tuffest fightas in da universe – don’t let dem beakies tell ya any different!”

Here are a few pics of the infantry stands just to get an idea of the variety of the ork models. These follow the same paint scheme as my test models. I am particularity pleased with how the Runt Herder came out. There are no rules for a lot of the ork characters which were released for Epic 40,000 but they add diversity to the regular stands (and ork armies should be nothing if not diverse). These were quite fun models to paint up and I think they look great all together.

I only have four stands of nobz to paint now and I will have my first legal formation for my ork army.

All the best,

Andy.

Comments
  1. Gus says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing these on the table top Andy!

Leave a Reply

