Blight Drone of Nurgle

Posted: August 16, 2013 in Chaos, Warhammer 40k
Tags: , , , , ,

Blight Drone

Some of you may have seen my Death Guard army from a few years ago. Well, while reorganising my study in order to accommodate some books I moved out of my old office I discovered this Blight Drone at the back of a shelf. The model was painted quite some time ago but I’d never finished the base. A quick bit of drybrushing and the addition of some basing materials soon sorted this out. Now that the model is 100% complete I thought I would photograph it and show it off on the blog.

Blight Drone

Finding the Blight Drone has inspired me to paint some more Nurgle models. Keep an eye on the blog for these in the near future.

Andy.

Comments
  1. forgotmytea says:

    I love how you paint Nurgle models, it sort of inspires awe and revulsion in me at the same time 🙂

  2. Minitrol says:

    That is beautiful Andrew. Sort of. Well you know what I mean! I love the grey/glass lens very cool. Are they any good in game or do the new Daemon bug/fly thingeys kinda eclipse them?

  3. Andrew King says:

    Thanks for the comments, guys. I’m glad you like it.

    In-game the Blight Drone is pretty good. It’s fast and its weaponry really packs a punch. As with any light vehicles they can be quite vulnerable though. I plan on adding a second Blight Drone to my force at some point.

    I’m not sure about the new daemon bugs as I haven’t read the rules for them.

  4. Chris says:

    Hi Andy, the rust effect on your blight drone is one of the best I have seen. Would you mind telling Mr how you did it? I’m going to be doing some of my own soon.

  5. Andrew King says:

    Thanks, Chris.

    The rust is a combination of airbrushing and stippling. I started with Scorched Brown and worked my way through Bestial Brown and Vermin Brown and finally orange. Where the rust was too bright I used glazes of the darker browns to tone it down. The recesses were given a very thin purple wash to shade them and add variety to the colour (real rust can have a purplish hue).

    I hope that helps,
    Andy.

Leave a Reply

