Grim Hammers

I have started work on a set of dwarf ‘Grim Hammers’ from The Hobbit. I have used a couple of short cuts on these models and they have been very quick to paint, just a couple of sessions to get them to their current stage. Firstly, I undercoated the models using Tamiya light gun metal spray. I did this over a black undercoat as my tests found that this gives a better finish than applying it over bare plastic (although you can spray directly onto the plastic but you will need a couple of coats). I then washed the models with Nuln Oil and left them to dry thoroughly. Once dry I gave them a quick drybrush with Necron Compound and then blocked in the basic colours for the non-metal areas. I just need to apply a few highlights now and they’ll be done.

Grim Hammer

Comments
  1. Quick and easy method, yet they look good. How long did it take you in total to paint the guys?

  2. Andrew King says:

    Probably only an hour or so of actual painting time. The most time consuming part was waiting for the wash to dry.

Leave a Reply

