Ork Scrap Prospector

Posted: April 7, 2014 in Gorkamorka, Orks, Warhammer 40k
Tags: , , , ,

Nazgrub

This is one of my favourite Games Workshop models of all time, Nagrub Wurrzag, ork scrap prospector. This is an old model from GW’s Gorkamorka range which has been in my collection for many years but I’ve only just got around to painting him. However, reading some old White Dwarfs  has reignited my interest in Gorkamorka and so I thought I would paint up a few models with the hope of maybe getting a couple of games in at some point. I kept to a fairly muted natural palette like the original Gorkamorka models.

Keep checking the blog for more Gorkamorka models soon.

-Andy.

Comments
  1. Ecellent paint job. The subdued colours work very well with this model, the shading is subtle, but really makes the details pop. The rust effect you achieved is also very convincing. Did you use a simple wash or something more ancy to create it?

  2. Edmund Normal says:

    Great job. Really nice colours; very cohesive. Do you have a recipe for the skin?

  3. Wudugast says:

    Very nice work there, as others have pointed out the skin and details are spot on. It’s a cracking model as well, one I’d not seen until now, the sculpting and level of detail on it is amazing (doubly so given its age).

  4. Andrew King says:

    Thanks for the comments, guys.

    The rust is just several thin washes of brown over a silver basecoat. The spade and pick were treated slightly differently. I washed then with Typhus Corrosion and then applied some weathering powder when dry.

    I will write up my technique for ork skin in my next post. Stay tuned.

    Andy.

  5. sho3box says:

    Great painting. Nazgrub is a great model. I painted one last year to a lower standard than yours, but it was very enjoyable all the same.

    Those old Brian Nelson orks are great.

Leave a Reply

