The Battle of Vesh’Yo

Posted: October 19, 2015 in Warhammer 40k
Tags: , , , , ,

The Battle of Vesh'Yo

Things have been a little quite here on Miniature Miscellany for the last few weeks. However, I can now reveal the reason for this. Five weeks ago I started work as a Warhammer World studio painter on a temporary contract to paint the display shown above. As you can imagine, this was a very exciting opportunity for me and it was great to work alongside talented colleagues on a project of this scale. The display went on show at the weekend as part of Warhammer World’s 40k Open Days meaning that I can finally lift the veil of secrecy.

DSCF4968

Working on a display of this size was a real experience and I painted literally hundreds of the models on this board. It took a team of six of us five weeks to paint all of the models on the display. The terrain was started before I joined the project so I’m not sure how long that took to build. I was painting 40 Skitarii a day and even batch painting Riptides! I can safely say that I have painted more models in the last month than I have in the rest of the year. My personal favourites of the models I painted are the Kastellan Robot punching a Crisis Suit in the face and the Y’Vahra Battlesuit blasting the Reaver. I also painted my initials onto the Fireblade’s knife using the Tau alphabet. No one will ever notice it but I know it’s there.

The key to painting this many models quickly was a simple colour scheme applied neatly and consistently.The Mechanicum models were airbrushed silver and then basecoated, washed with Nuln Oil and given a single highlight. The Tau were a bit more complicated and time-consuming. They were airbrushed Tau Light Ochre over Zandri Dust base and then shaded in the recesses and edge highlighted. The Tau took about twice as long as the Mechanicum stuff and I was averaging about 20 Fire Warriors/Breachers a day.

If you have any questions or comments leave them below and I will try my best to answer them. Enjoy the pictures (if you look closely you may even spot some as-yet unreleased models).

Comments
  1. technasma says:

    I was blown away when pictures of this diorama surfaced this weekend – what a fantastic project to be part of. Great to hear a bit of what went on behind the scenes!

  2. Andrew King says:

    Thanks. It was hard work but also a lot of fun.

  3. Wow impressive! What a great opportunity for you man!!

  4. Tyler Mengel says:

    That’s awesome! I would love to work on a project like that. The diorama came out amazing! Did you paint any of the titans?

  5. Andrew King says:

    It was an amazing job. I’ve always dreamed of working on the kinds of dioramas I saw in White Dwarf but obviously time, money and space prohibited this so it was fantastic to get paid to do it and have the resources of the Warhammer World studio.

    I didn’t paint any of the titans, my colleagues did those. I painted about half of the infantry on the board along with the smaller vehicles. The largest model I painted was the Stormsurge.

  6. Wudugast says:

    That’s amazing! What a thing to be involved in – I love those huge dioramas (bit of a personal ambition to get to Warhammer World and see them in the flesh someday). Love the Kastellan decking the Crisis Suit. Silly Tau – its his own fault for ending up in close-combat to begin with! The wrecked knight is superb as well.

  7. Dan says:

    I was a bit disappointed in some of the displays last time I was at warhammer world. Lots of models and an epic scene from a distance but lacklustre up close. The empire vs orks and the deamon kin vs Ultramarines both looked great but lacked the cool little details that keeps you spotting more every time you look. If the pics I’ve seen so far are anything to go by this one is back on form.
    The punch in the face and the reaver crushing a riptides while being attacked from behind are brilliant.
    Well done to the whole team a great project.

  8. Alex says:

    Oh, wow… that is stunning… nice job fella! I love that you got your initials in there – good call 😉

  9. Andrew King says:

    Thanks for all the kind words.

  10. Ste says:

    Congratulations!

    I was too busy to attend open day to see this in person but several of my regulars went and reported back to say how amazing this display was, so we’ll done! I hope this isn’t the last Warhammer World has seen of you!

  11. Excellent diorama. The close up Tau miniatures have a cool cell shaded, almost polygonal look. Very suitable for that race, as they do remind me of videogames. In general the composition seems really good with lots of different points to draw the eye to.

    If it can eb disclosed: How did you get in contact/involved in this? did you know the right people or did you apply for it?

    • Andrew King says:

      Thanks, I’m glad you like the diorama. The shading and highlighting on the Tau took ages but I’m glad it paid off.

      As for how I became involved, it’s no secret. The job was advertised as a temporary position on GW’s recruitment website. I applied and was interviewed and offered the job. I know for a fact that more temporary contracts for this kind of work are going to come up in the future. If you’re interested keep an eye on GW’s website.

  12. Morris says:

    First of all: Stunning work! I’ve read about this in this months White Dwarf and I wonder which colours were used for painting the ground of the battlefield (this reddish brown rocky environment). I’d love to adapt this when basing my next project.

Leave a Reply

